2016 Ben Lexcen Scholarship ceremony and Blues Award Dinner


The University Blue is UNSW's highest sporting award. Blues winners personify the qualities that sports brings to the University Community. They combine high University sporting achievement, commitment to their club and demonstrate the key sporting values of teamwork and selflessness across the whole of the University life.

The 2016 nine sporting Blues are: Matt Rawlinson(AFL), Hannah Jones (Athletics), Ivor Metcalf (Athletics), Harrison Garrett (Baseball), Charles Wakim (Cricket), Georgia Redmayne (Cricket), Heide Wright (Judo), Jordon White (Swimming) and Eshan Wickrema (Ultimate Frisbee).

The night involved the presentation of the 2016 Ben Lexcen Sports Scholarships as well. The Ben Lexcen Sports Scholarship support students not just for their outstanding sporting ability but for their all-round qualities in leadership, community and academia. The scholarship provides $7.500 worth of financial and personal support and a mentoring program for each scholar to provide flexibility between study and sporting commitments.

The 2016 Ben Lexcen scholars are: Audrey Kyriacou (Athletics), Bryce Collins (Athletics), Ivor Metcalfe (Athletics), Katrina Hunt (Athletics), Raymond Smith (Athletics), Rachel Duncan (Canoe Sprint), Georgia Redmayne (Cricket), Callum Watson (Cross Country Skiing), Heide Wright (Judo), Andrew Kellaway (Rugby Union), Harrison Chapman (Rugby Union), Henry Hutchison (Rugby Union), Lucy Copeland (Sailing), Paul Darmanin (Sailing), Tayla-Paige O'Neill (Skiing - Moguls), Prue Watt (Swimming), Erny Tsao (Table Tennis), Ashleigh-Blaise Webb (Tae Kwon Do), Angus Lambie (Water Polo) and Nathan Power (Water Polo).

Ben Lexcen scholars Nathan Power (Water Polo), Henry Hutchison (Rugby 7s) and Prue Watt (Para Swimming) will be heading to Rio for the 2016 Olympics and Paralympics in August and September respectively.

UNSW Scholarships wish to congratulate all the winners of the 2016 Ben Lexcen Scholarships and Blues Awards.